Goal to Incorporate Film in the Classroom

<Get Your Hands Out of Your Pockets                                                                                                                                                Handcrafted by Clint Harp: A Book Review>

Recently, I began implementing a level of literal “reflection” of our shop skills by incorporating the use of mirrors in the classroom. Inspired by the restaurant industry (which uses mirrors to remind patrons to regulate their possibly intoxicated behavior), I realized that similar to never taking selfies when angry, we do not like to see ourselves acting hostile or negative, and mirrors would be the first step in promoting a style of instantaneous feedback.

 

Soon, I’d like to implement filming. Video and reviewing film is a powerful way of reflecting on our ‘soft-skills’. I will send a disclaimer home to the parents and be sure to build a culture of acceptance to the camera. This will require reminding students that the film will not be publicized, but reviewed for our purposes only.

 

Initially, I will review the film independently and practice developing commentary. As I get comfortable, I will review film with students. Practicing the development of commentary will help facilitate a critical conversation without anyone feeling attacked. I also know that I will be one of the first persons to be reviewed and critiqued when analyzing body language.

 

As a result, not only will students (and myself) be able to accurately reflect on our actions, there will also be a motivation to regulate our negative reactions in the moment. We will also have the opportunity to review positive actions and discuss those. By specifically pointing out positives, students will have a better image of supportive body language.

 

I am excited to break down these valuable moments and life lessons with students and I wonder what other teachers have had success using film in the classroom like this. This post was inspired by a Harbor Freight Prize for Teaching Excellence Program where a teacher sits down and reviews film with his students just as a coach would do so with an athletic team. What has been your experience in using film as a professional growth tool?

<Get Your Hands Out of Your Pockets                                            Handcrafted by Clint Harp: A Book Review>

Write a comment

Comments: 0